A Passing Thought On Being Alone Abroad

When I started mentioning my plans for a PhD to people, the most prevalent response was that I should go for it, since I don’t have anything, or more accurately, a significant anyone, keeping me home. But that wasn’t entirely true. I have a few significant others. My best friends, my family (most of whom live in a different town, but they don’t feel far away). Not that it was anything I considered as a factor. I knew I wanted to get out of the middle of nowhere, no matter what.

However, now that I’ve been away from home for more than two months, I’m starting to think that there might be merit in not moving away alone. I mean, sure, there’s the trouble of two people looking for work and accommodation together, which is a pretty big trouble. But the trade-off is that you aren’t so alone. Not that I mind being alone, but alone in your home country is different from alone in a new country, especially then there’s no internet access at home (as is my case). Being a tad introverted I often find it difficult to talk to people I don’t know (well). I find myself wishing I had come with someone, or had a good friend around here (which right now I do, at least for a couple of weeks, yay).

Off to try and make some new friends,

Noodle.

P.S. How cool would it be if there was a spousal hire equivalent for friends?

2 responses to “A Passing Thought On Being Alone Abroad

  1. Hope you’ll find some friends soon! I totally feel you, as I’m in the same boat. I moved alone to the UK last week for my first postdoc and is has been incredibly tough… But I’ve moved alone before, for my masters, and after a few months everything was much better. Hope that it will be like that for you too!

    • Thank you. Yes, I know it will be better and it will be better for you too 🙂 I find it helps to have activities you can do alone, like, books (I got an e-reader before I moved and loaded it up with books), movies, baking – if you’re into those sorts of thing, of course. The latter is especially nice because you can then share with the folks at the lab, which can serve as a nice ice-breaker for conversation.

Leave a Reply

